Maini finishes third for season, Mason takes first win!

Double R Racing's Linus Lundqvist is the 2018 BRDC British F3 Champion, after storming to his seventh victory of the season at Silverstone this afternoon (Saturday). With his title rival Nicolai Kjaergaard retiring on the first lap, Lundqvist needed only to finish on the podium, but converted pole into one of the most dominant wins of the year by over three seconds, and also set fastest lap, potentially putting him in an ideal position for race three tomorrow afternoon.

Maldonado's fourth place saw him gain two places on his starting position, while Simmons in fifth had a clear race for Chris Dittmann Racing having started seventh on the grid, and continuing his strong adaptation to the BRDC British F3 car.

Double R's Mahadik was another to gain two places from his starting position to take sixth, and the Indian driver now faces a fight for third in the championship, being three points behind Kush Maini, who finished 11th in the race, and eight points clear of Gamble.

Owega in seventh was just 0.236s behind Mahadik at the flag, having climbed from 12th on the grid, while Ericsson had race long pressure from a train of cars, with Chadwick, Chaimongkol, Maini, and Sun Yue Yang following him closely throughout.

None of that mattered to Lundqvist though, who now joins names including Jackie Stewart, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen and Daniel Ricciardo as a British F3 Champion, and delivering Double R's second BRDC British F3 title in three years.

The top three drivers were presented with their trophies on the podium by BRDC Member and well-known commentator Ian Titchmarsh. The final two races of the season take place at 09.20 and 14.25 tomorrow.

BRDC British F3 Championship, Silverstone race one result

1. Linus Lundqvist, Double R Racing, 10 laps
2. Tom Gamble, Fortec Motorsports, +3.097s
3. Billy Monger, Carlin, +6.200s
4. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +6.793s
5. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +9.305s
6. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, +13.021s
7. Jusuf Owega, Hillspeed, +13.257s
8. Hampus Ericsson, Fortec Motorsports, +16.928s
9. Jamie Chadwick, Douglas Motorsport, +17.878s
10. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +18.700s
11. Kush Maini, Lanan Racing, +18.956s
12. Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, +19.289s
13. Clement Novalak, Carlin, +22.510s
14. Arvin Esmaeili, Douglas Motorsport, +28.730s
15. Ben Hurst, Hillspeed, +35.592s
16. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +36.436s
DNF. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +4 laps
DNF. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, 0 laps

BRDC British F3, Silverstone race two result:


The second BRDC British F3 race of the weekend at Silverstone has been abandoned due to adverse weather conditions, with Lanan Racing's Josh Mason declared the winner and full points awarded.

The race started late, and behind the safety car after near constant rain throughout the morning. The supporting GT Cup category had a 10 minute warm-up session during a gap in the weather, but by the time the British F3 cars were heading to the grid, the heavy rain had returned. Two laps were completed by all cars before the decision was made by race control to red flag the race, with Josh Mason leading having started from pole.

A Clerk of the Course Decision, signed by Clerk of the Course David Scott states:

'Race two of the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship on Sunday 14 October was started behind the Safety Car in accordance with MSA Regulations.

'The race was abandoned due to heavy rain and standing water and the cars were returned to the Pit Lane.

'The results show that the leader had completed TWO laps. In accordance with BRDC British Formula 3 Championship regulation 1.6.4 full points are awarded.'

Mason therefore is awarded the victory, with the top-three completed by Hillspeed's Ben Hurst and Douglas Motorsport's Arvin Esmaeili. With the race run entirely behind the Safety Car, the finishing order is exactly the same as the starting positions

BRDC British F3 Championship, Silverstone race two result: 1. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, 2 laps
2. Ben Hurst, Hillspeed, +0.777s
3. Arvin Esmaeili, Douglas Motorsport, +1.054s
4. Clement Novalak, Carlin, +2.615s
5. Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, +2.615s
6. Kush Maini, Lanan Racing, +4.786s
7. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +5.699s
8. Jamie Chadwick, Douglas Motorsport, +7.630s
9. Hampus Ericsson, Fortec Motorsports, +8.825s
10. Jusuf Owega, Hillspeed, +9.248s
11. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, +10.997s
12. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.904s
13. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +12.511s
14. Billy Monger, Carlin, +13.472s
15. Tom Gamble, Fortec Motorsports, +15.060s
16. Linus Lundqvist, Double R Racing, +17.455s
17. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, +18.912s
18. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +21.235s

Silverstone race three:

Due to adverse weather conditions, the MSVR meeting at Silverstone was abandoned at 13.10 this afternoon, meaning it wasn't possible to run the final race of the 2018 BRDC British F3 Championship.

The Clerk of the Course statement said: "With the agreement of the Stewards of the meeting, the meeting is abandoned at 13.10 due to adverse weather conditions."

The non-running of race three confirms Kush Maini's third place in the championship, with Krishnaraaj Mahadik fourth and Tom Gamble fifth.


Photo credit: BRDC British F3 and British GT