Formula 4

2013 and 2014 champions

The BRDC Formula 4 Championship began in 2013 and Lanan Racing excelled, winning the championship with Jake Hughes. The championship title was retained a year later as George Russell and Arjun Maini battled for the title, claiming the top two spots in the standings for Lanan Racing. A more challenging 2015 saw Lanan Racing filling the top three places before bad luck dropped them back.

2016 sees another new start, as the champiosnhip becomes the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship due to the brand new Tatuus-Cosworth F4 car populating the championship. With three cars on the grid, Lanan Racing can be expected to be back in the title fight.

Past Drivers
  •   Struan Moore - 5th, 2014
  •   Jake Hughes - Champion, 2013
  •   Jake Dalton - 5th, 2013
  •   Daniel Headlam - 19th, 2013

2016 Drivers

Akhil Rabindra
  Facebook   |   Twitter
Toby Sowery
Facebook | Twitter
The championship

The BRDC Formula 4 Championship comprises 24 races across eight events. The weekend format includes a 20 minute qualifying session followed by three 20 minute races. The grid for the first is set in qualifying order, the grid for the second in order of race 1 with the top 8 reversed, and the grid for the third race in order of fastest laps from race 1 or 2. Such a format provides exciting racing, the opportunity for misfortune in qualifying or races not to ruin the weekend and for drivers to develop overtaking skills. The minimum licence requirement for the BRDC Formula 4 Championship is National B. Testing is unrestricted.

Prize package is TBC.

The car
  •   2-litre 230bhp Cosworth Duratec engine
  •   Max torque 235Nm
  •   Fly-by-wire throttle
  •   Cosworth SQ6 engine management system
  •   Six-speed sequential gearbox with paddle shift
  •   Limited-slip differential
  •   Fully carbon-fibre Tatuus chassis
  •   Improved aero including adjustable front wing and two piece rear wing
  •   Pirelli tyres
  •   Cosworth CFW277 steering wheel with integrated dash and paddles
The calendar
  •   27-28 March - R1, R2 & R3 - Snetterton
  •   16-17 April- R4, R5 & R6 - Brands Hatch GP
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   30 April - 1 May - R7, R8 & R9 - Rockingham
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   28-30 May - R10, R11 & R12 - Oulton Park
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   11-12 June - R13, R14 & R15 - Silverstone GP
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   08-09 July - R16, R17 & R18 - Spa Francorchamps
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   06-07 August- R19, R20 & R21 - Snetterton
    (co-headline w/British GT)
  •   10-11 September- R22, R23 & R24 - Donington Park
    (co-headline w/British GT)


Lifeline Safety Systems